Felix Serralles wins at SpaFelix Serralles soared to victory in scorching 32-degree conditions at Spa-Francorchamps in the first Formula 3 race of the weekend.

The Puerto Rican, who took fastest lap as he slipstreamed his way ahead of early leader Carlos Sainz Jr on the third lap, therefore moves to within a point of British F3 International Series leader Jack Harvey.

Serralles did not get the best start from pole, but his Fortec Dallara-Mercedes looked quicker than the Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen of Sainz and he took the lead with relative ease.

Sainz then came under pressure from fellow Spaniard Daniel Juncadella, who emulated Serralles’s move two laps later to move his Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes into second place.

Although Juncadella closed on Serralles, the leader put the hammer down to re-extend his advantage and crossed the line more than five seconds clear.

“Spa is a long circuit and the tyres go away quickly,” reported Serralles. “I tried to maintain them to the end. When I saw Juncadella catching all I did was maintain my speed because I knew his tyres would get pretty torn up. By the end my fronts were going…”

Behind Sainz, Harvey came out on top of a dust-up with Carlin team-mate and title rival Jazeman Jaafar. Although the Malaysian edged the Lincolnshire man onto the grass, Harvey fought back on the final lap to crucially take the place to stay ahead in the points. Jaafar then pushed Michael Lewis wide at Les Combes, allowing Alex Lynn to snatch back the sixth place he had lost to the American earlier in the race.

Lynn’s Fortec team-mate Pipo Derani made some strong progress up the field to claim eighth, passing 2009 Swedish Formula Renault Championship rivals Felix Rosenqvist and Tom Blomqvist on the way. Blomqvist lost out in this fight and took 10th, but the Ma-Con Dallara-VW man will start Friday afternoon’s reversed-grid race from pole.

European F3 Championship leader Raffaele Marciello could only climb to 11th, and his non-score means Prema team-mate Juncadella slashes the points gap.

In the National Class, Double R’s Duvashen Padayachee got a clean break on his three rivals in the early laps, and the Australian was able to maintain a healthy gap on them for the rest of the race as they fought a highly-entertaining battle at the back of the field.

Results – 13 laps:

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Felix Serralles Fortec Dallara-Merc 29m45.219s
2. Daniel Juncadella Prema Dallara-Merc + 5.657s
3. Carlos Sainz Jr Carlin Dallara-VW + 10.462s
4. Jack Harvey Carlin Dallara-VW + 12.678s
5. Jazeman Jaafar Carlin Dallara-VW + 14.364s
6. Alex Lynn Fortec Dallara-Merc + 14.515s
7. Michael Lewis Prema Dallara-Merc + 16.009s
8. Pipo Derani Fortec Dallara-Merc + 16.776s
9. Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Dallara-Merc + 18.081s
10. Tom Blomqvist Ma-Con Dallara-VW + 20.037s
11. Raffaello Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc + 20.283s
12. Sven Muller Prema Dallara-Merc + 26.069s
13. Harry Tincknell Carlin Dallara-VW + 27.009s
14. Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Dallara-Merc + 28.790s
15. Geoff Uhrhane Double R Dallara-Merc + 29.233s
16. Pietro Fantin Carlin Dallara-VW + 31.052s
17. Emil Bernstorff Ma-Con Dallara-VW + 31.753s
18. Nick McBride T-Sport Dallara-Nissan + 33.004s
19. Andrea Roda Zeller Dallara-Merc + 33.486s
20. Lucas Wolf URD Dallara-Merc + 37.729s
21. Fahmi Ilyas Double R Dallara-Merc + 38.501s
22. Sandro Zeller Zeller Dallara-Merc + 40.982s
23. Hannes van Asseldonk Fortec Dallara-Merc + 45.415s
24. Richard Bradley Carlin Dallara-VW + 45.470s
25. Duvashen Padayachee Double R Dallara-Mugen + 54.785s
26. Luis Sa Silva Angola Dallara-Merc + 56.276s
27. Adderly Fong CF Dallara-Mugen + 1m01.814s
28. Spike Goddard T-Sport Dallara-Mugen + 1m01.912s
29. Pedro Calbimonte T-Sport Dallara-Mugen + 1m03.490s

Source: http://www.iracing.com/inracingnews/real-world-racing/3rdparty/serralles-wins-and-nears-points-lead

Paul Hawkins Mike Hawthorn Boy Hayje Willi Heeks