Alex Lynn Fortec Dallara British F3 test Snetterton 2012

Alex Lynn pipped Jack Harvey and Harry Tincknell as the three Britons in the British Formula 3 International Series ended the Snetterton test in the top three positions.

Harvey led Tincknell and Lynn in the one-hour morning session, with the trio covered by just 0.015 seconds. But Lynn put in a quick lap during the afternoon period to go fastest in his Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes at his local track in 1m41.753s – a big confidence boost ahead of this weekend’s triple-header round.

A red flag, after Adderly Fong went off track and rejoined, spreading oil on the circuit, meant the last few minutes of running were lost.

Harvey was fastest of the Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen contingent, while title rival Jazeman Jaafar was fourth and Carlos Sainz Jr, who had an off in the afternoon session, was next.

Championship leader Felix Serralles, Lynn’s Fortec team-mate, went sixth quickest.

In the National Class, Bolivian newcomer Pedro Pablo Calbimonte set the pace in his T-Sport Dallara in the morning, although Duvashen Padayachee of Double R Racing was fastest in the afternoon.

Pos Driver                Team/Car                  Time       Gap  1. Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m41.753s  2. Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW         1m41.800s  + 0.047s  3. Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW         1m41.809s  + 0.056s  4. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW         1m41.942s  + 0.189s  5. Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW         1m42.036s  + 0.283s  6. Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m42.355s  + 0.602s  7. Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW         1m42.458s  + 0.705s  8. Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m42.590s  + 0.837s  9. Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan    1m42.787s  + 1.034s  8. Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m43.056s  + 1.303s 11. Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc     1m43.173s  + 1.420s 12. Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc     1m43.468s  + 1.715s 13. Pedro Calbimonte      T-Sport Dallara-Mugen*    1m44.488s  + 2.735s 14. Addely Fong           CF Dallara-Mugen*         1m44.872s  + 3.019s 15. Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen*    1m45.056s  + 3.303s 16. Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen*   1m45.179s  + 3.482s  *= National Class 


Billy Garrett Jo Gartner Tony Gaze Geki