Jason Plato, MG, Knockhill 2012Jason Plato took pole position in the Knockhill round of the British Touring Car Championship this afternoon.

In a wet session, the works Honda of Gordon Shedden initially set the pace until his best of 57.482s was disallowed for exceeding the track limits.

That allowed Plato’s works MG6 and Rob Collard (WSR BMW) to battle it out for pole.

Collard held the top spot for some time with 57.425s, but Plato then recorded a 57.128s, just before American Robb Holland went off and brought out the red flags.

With the rain returning, there were few improvements after the restart, although Plato did set a second time good enough for pole.

One of the few to improve was Aron Smith. The Motorbase Ford Focus driver put in his best BTCC qualifying performance to secure third.

Tom Onslow-Cole made it two WSR BMWs in the top four, while Frank Wrathall’s Dynojet Toyota Avensis took fifth.

Shedden eventually set a time of 57.605s to qualify sixth having been in the top two throughout the earlier dry running.

BTCC returnee Paul O’Neill had to abandon a rapid lap due to Holland’s off, but still managed a late improvement to take seventh before an incident involving Adam Morgan brought the session to a premature end.

Championship leader Matt Neal was eighth, having battled with a boost control problem throughout the day.

Fellow Honda driver Andrew Jordan (Eurotech) also struggled to 11th as the top 14 in the 19-car field was covered by one second.

Pos  Driver           Team/Car           Time     Gap
1. Jason Plato MG 57.128s
2. Rob Collard WSR BMW 57.425s + 0.297s
3. Aron Smith Motorbase Ford 57.478s + 0.350s
4. Tom Onslow-Cole WSR BMW 57.533s + 0.405s
5. Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota 57.572s + 0.444s
6. Gordon Shedden Honda 57.605s + 0.477s
7. Paul O’Neill Speedworks Toyota 57.650s + 0.522s
8. Matt Neal Honda 57.688s + 0.560s
9. Mat Jackson Motorbase Ford 57.776s + 0.648s
10. Dave Newsham ES Vauxhall 57.804s + 0.676s
11. Andrew Jordan Eurotech Honda 57.895s + 0.767s
12. Daniel Welch Welch Proton 57.938s + 0.810s
13. Adam Morgan Speedworks Toyota 58.036s + 0.908s
14. Nick Foster WSR BMW 58.082s + 0.954s
15. Jeff Smith Eurotech Honda 58.252s + 1.124s
16. Andy Neate MG 58.706s + 1.578s
17. Lea Wood Wood Vauxhall 58.836s + 1.708s
18. Robb Holland Gilham Honda 59.000s + 1.872s
19. Chris James ES Vauxhall 59.017s + 1.889s

Source: http://www.iracing.com/inracingnews/other-news/touring-cars/btcc/plato-claims-wet-knockhill-pole

Phil Hill Peter Hirt David Hobbs Gary Hocking