Aron Smith KnockhillBritish Touring Car driver Aron Smith has defended his actions in the first race at Knockhill after Jason Plato called for his licence to be revoked.

Plato’s works MG6 and Smith’s Motorbase Ford Focus were fighting over second early in the race when several clashes ended with Plato being sent into the barriers at Clark’s.

Smith was handed three points on his licence and fined £500.

Plato called for a harsher punishment, but Smith defended himself.

“It was a racing incident,” he said of the Clark’s contact. “Because it’s Jason I’ve been hit with a penalty, but similar things have happened this season and they’ve been called racing accidents.

“Look at what Jason and Matt [Neal] did at Snetterton [where they hit each other]; they got verbal warnings.

“He was hanging me out to dry and I got to the point where I had to either drive into the gravel or turn in.”

Smith also believes he had little option with the earlier contact on the start/finish straight.

“Jason was slow out of the hairpin and went to the inside to defend.


“Tom [Onslow-Cole] was right there and started to move to my left so I had the choice of going across the front of him or hitting Jason and I even lifted to not hit him too hard.

“It definitely wasn’t intentional. I’ve got a lot of respect for him and it’s a shame we’ve got off on the wrong foot.”

Source: http://www.iracing.com/inracingnews/other-news/touring-cars/btcc/smith-defends-role-in-plato-clash

William Ashton Lewis Jr Sterling Burton Marlin Mark Anthony Martin Jeremy Allan Mayfield

