Will Davison and Mika Salo made up for their disastrous first Surfers Paradise race by winning part two of V8 Supercars’ Gold Coast 600.

On Saturday Salo had held the early lead only for Davison to crash their Ford Performance Racing Falcon on his out-lap after the driver charge.

Salo spent the first part of race two in fourth place, struggling with a handling problem, while Sebastien Bourdais pulled away up front in the Triple Eight Holden he shared with Jamie Whincup.

FPR chose to bring Salo into the pits early, meaning he would have to drive two stints whereas most of the international drivers would hand over to their V8 regular partners for the majority of the race.

Salo maintained the pace so well that by the time the divergent strategies had cycled through, Davison was running ahead of Whincup going into the closing stages.

Both were behind Tim Slade’s James Rosenberg/Stone Brothers Ford, though. Slade and David Brabham had also taken an alternative strategy, getting a pitstop out of the way under the third safety car. That allowed them to appear in a surprise race lead once all the final stops were complete.

After a tough battle, Davison made it past Slade with 22 laps to go. Whincup and the second FPR car of Mark Winterbottom and Will Power soon followed, with Whincup then keeping pressure on Davison to the flag.

The championship leader ultimately had to settle for second, as Davison claimed his first win since Phillip Island in May.

Whincup finished right on his tail, with Winterbottom and Slade completing the top four.

Garth Tander and Ryan Briscoe claimed fifth for Holden Racing Team, followed by the second Triple Eight car of Craig Lowndes and Richard Lyons.

Russell Ingall, who shared his Walkinshaw Holden with Peter Dumbreck, held off a pack of cars for seventh.

Marc Lieb had again run very strongly in Jonathon Webb’s Tekno Holden, holding second behind Bourdais in the first stint. But when Webb received a penalty for kerb-hopping, their podium challenge became a 14th-place finish.

Source: http://www.iracing.com/inracingnews/real-world-racing/3rdparty/davison-and-salo-win-surfers-finale

Ernst Klodwig Kamui Kobayashi Helmuth Koinigg Heikki Kovalainen